Space Race

We race cars, boats, horses and space exploration. Why not race emotional growth?

Because it doesn’t work like that. You can’t age 100 year-old balsamic vinegar in less than 100 years. There are some things you don’t rush; life is one of them.

But even if I’m in pain? I don’t like being in pain a second longer than I have to. In fact I don’t know anyone that does. My dog doesn’t, I don’t and none of my friends do either. Can’t I race to happiness?

If you really want to be happy, you have to be willing to wait. Once you’re willing to, you won’t have to wait.

Cute. Do you write fortune cookies too?

Someone has to.

Hm.

You’re in a rush.

So what’s the solution? I have to stop that right now?

Then you’d be in a rush to slow down, but in a rush nonetheless.

This is all rather complicated and convoluted, isn’t it?

Only as much as you make it. All you have to understand is that you don’t have to understand everything now. There is no rush, now or ever. There will always be another issue to address, another problem to solve, and another lesson to learn. The finish line you’re so eagerly racing toward doesn’t even exist. Slow down. Lighten up. There are some things you don’t rush.

**Note: I had not anticipated or planned to write all of these blog posts in this format. Apparently that is how they want to be written right now. I can’t say whether they will always be in this format– namely as a conversation. But I’d like to take a minute to say that I am not at both ends of the conversation. If you’re wondering which voice is mine, it is always the one asking the questions, not providing the answers. Where do the answers come from? Divine inspiration or whatever you wish to call it. I’m certainly not that wise.

Leave a Reply

