Nothing but the Rain

Happy third anniversary to my main man. Please enjoy this picture of him giving our daughter a pink Valentine’s Day mani-pedi:

  
We’ve come a long way, baby. There aren’t words sufficient to describe how emotionally stunted we were when we started dating five years ago, and I’m confident you know exactly what I mean when I say I never would have guessed we’d evolve into competent, happy adults so quickly or so thoroughly. 

I’m aware one of the things I still suck at is expressing my appreciation of this (of you!) clearly and frequently enough. I used to love holidays because other people used to buy me things. I did not love holidays when we started dating and you didn’t know you were meant to buy me things or (duh) buy me the right things. (I’m a real catch, aren’t I?) I know love holidays because they afford me scheduled times to practice feeling and expressing gratitude for you and the family we are forging together. 

(In case you have any doubts about my value in this situation, Zoe said “shit!” for the first time today when she dropped her toy train and when I asked her where she learned that words she said, “You say it, Mommy.” Hmmmm. We all have our parenting strengths. You paint her nails and make her laugh until she cries; I broaden her vocabulary.)

Okay, seriously. We’ve had a lot of big changes take place recently. I’ve been sick and bedridden for the past month, good for literally nothing except watching “The 100” on Netflix and demanding strange foods at odd hours of the day and night. And you’ve not only been working a full-time job and taking care of our daughter, you’ve been taking care of me like I never thought anyone could. I know our apartment is a biohazard right now. I know Zoe’s been watching too much TV and there are about three loads of dirty laundry in the hamper. Throughout all of this I have been your number one priority and no matter how much you enjoy clean underwear, you would rather I be comfortable. I know how rare this clarity and softness of heart is. Let’s be very clear: I’m the lucky one. 

I’ve said this in the past but I want to say again that anytime I try to modify or correct who you are, I am stupid and I am wrong. Keep calling me out. We’re both the better for it when you keep me in check. I want all of you. 

To quote Lieutenant Gaeta in the first episode of “Battlestar Galactica”: “May I take this opportunity to say that it’s been both a pleasure and an honor to serve with you these past three years, sir.”

*salute* 

And here’s to all the rest of the years you’re stuck with me till we’re old and wrinkly.

Xoxo, Your sugar dumpling

Leave a Reply

