Line Upon Line

1_times_square_night_2013I have always written in the same way I have always lived; much of the writing and living were done in the slack-jawed, wild-eyed, wandering manner of a kid lost in Times Square.

My life has been blessed with a bit more clarity now, and I am no longer satisfied with regurgitating the first purposeless thoughts and words that bubble to the forefront of my mind. I want to become a better woman, wife and mother. That is my purpose and I’d like to bring that purpose to this blog.

So I’m changing the title.

“For behold, thus saith the Lord God: I will give unto the children of men line upon line, precept upon precept, here a little and there a little; and blessed are those who hearken unto my precepts, and lend an ear unto my counsel, for they shall learn wisdom.”

(2 Nephi 28:30)

The content of my blog will not be changing, except that the focus will shift from me to the lessons I am learning.

011“Line Upon Line” refers to the incremental changes that constitute personal growth. Somehow I transformed from nonfunctional, acerbic teenager to happy, relatively loving mother and wife. Those changes were not brought about by wearing a ring on a certain finger or growing a baby in my uterus. They were gradual. One day I managed to say “thank you” to my husband. Another day I felt compassion instead of impatience when my daughter refused to listen. Another day I forget everything I previously learned and landed back at “Go” without collecting $200.

I began again.

I’m happy with who I’ve become. I’ve got a long way to go, but this is measured in time, not distance; I have the rest of my life and nothing better to do than plod along faithfully. It hardly matters how far I go. It matters that wherever I am, I keep reaching further.

Plus, the past five years have shown me that with steady tenacity, you travel much further than you’d believe possible. I think the tortoise was onto something.

Leave a Reply

